Hake soup

Got a couple line-caught Adriatic hake from Mijo, our fishmonger. He suggested making soup from them.
Looking around the fridge and cupboards, I decided to base the soup on both bun ca and asam laksa.
So, I put together the following:

  • 1 large onion
  • Some small cloves of garlic
  • A 3cm piece of ginger
  • Two fresh hot peppers that had started to shrivel
  • Half an unwaxed lemon
  • About a tablespoon of deseeded tamarind paste
  • A small jar of homemade reduced fish stock
  • A tin of tomatoes
  • A cup or so of white wine
  • Water
  • A kaffir lime leaf
  • About 2 cups of chopped fresh red chard
  • A bunch of fresh dill

I julienned the onion and sauteed it in olive oil in a heavy 5 liter pot. To this I added the ginger, hot peppers, and garlic, in that order, as I diced them.
When the onion etc were fragrant, I added the tomatoes, wine, and stock, along with the lemon and tamarind. I brought the lot to a near boil, added the hake, and simmered the lot for about 20 mins.
I took the fish out, let it cool, and boned it. While the fish cooled, I added the chard and water to cover and brought the lot again to simmer. After the fish was boned, I put it back in the soup along with half a cup or so of chopped dill and heated through.
I served the soup with a salad of young spinach, oak leaf lettuce, kohlrabi, radishes, “salad nut mix” (mostly sunflower and pumpkin seeds), and Slovak sheep’s milk curd, dressed with virgin pumpkin seed oil and herb vinegar.
Results: delicious!

About Zucchini

43 year old American tech writer living in Prague. Eating, cooking, traveling, reading, and tabletop RPGs are my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

