Quail, saffron, and chanterelles

From the farmers market we had 2 large quail and a quarter kilo of chanterelles. At the tea festival on Saturday, we met someone directly importing saffron from Iran. So today I put them together.
I salted and peppered the quail and put them in a glass casserole with a little white wine and a couple bay leaves. Sadly I had no fresh thyme. I put the casserole in a pre-heated 175• oven while I made sauce.
I diced 2 shallots and 2 cloves of garlic and coarsely chopped the chanterelles. In a long handled saucepan on the small burner, I put a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of rendered duck fat. I heated them until the butter frothed and added the shallots. After stirring about for a minute on low heat, I added the garlic. I stirred until I smelled the garlic, then added the chanterelles. I sauteed the lot on medium heat until liquid started to come out of the mushrooms.
Meanwhile, I was bringing a jar of chicken stock to a boil in another pot. When the liquid came out of the chanterelles, I added half a cup of stock and a quarter cup of white wine. I brought the sauce to a simmer and added a pinch of saffron, about ten threads.
At this point, the quail were ready. So I took them out, removed the cover, poured the sauce over the top, and put the lot back in the oven uncovered for ten minutes.
At this point the legs and skin of the birds were nicely browned and the sauce was slightly thickened and a vibrant yellow.
I served them with plain sauteed spinach and followed by a salad.
The combination of chanterelles and saffron worked really well!

About Zucchini

43 year old American tech writer living in Prague. Eating, cooking, traveling, reading, and tabletop RPGs are my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

